News Home
The original item was published from 11/18/2016 3:54:00 PM to 11/18/2016 3:55:04 PM.


City News - Homepage

Posted on: November 18, 2016

[ARCHIVED] Joint Statement of Unity From Community Leaders

Mayor Piercy joined Lane County Board Chair Faye Stewart along with the mayors of Springfield, Florence, Creswell, Veneta, Oakridge, Coburg and Westfir signing a statement of unity expressing their commitment to maintaining strong and vibrant communities that promote kindness, compassion and respect. Many community leaders have also joined in this statement:

Across Lane County and within its cities, we are committed to providing a safe, welcoming and respectful environment for all who reside in, visit and pass through our communities. We, the undersigned, are committed to supporting each other and the public we serve, and providing excellent services for all people.

We have heard from members of our community about feelings of anxiety, stress and vulnerability related to the most recent election cycle. This is particularly true for those who have ever found themselves marginalized because of who they are.

Our commitment to being a welcoming, safe, and inclusive community for all remains constant. We will continue to find ways to support each other and work to find common ground with those around us and ask that our communities do the same.

We stand together in making the following commitments:

  • Continuing to build strong and vibrant communities that promote kindness, compassion and respect.
  • Supporting each other to speak our minds in appropriate ways, welcome all viewpoints, and disagree respectfully.
  • Understanding that language and actions rooted in prejudice, fear, ignorance or hate are not acceptable at any time.
  • Helping each other to collaborate, problem-solve, and resolve our differences using positive language and approaches.
  • Working to bring our teams and our communities together and to maintain a welcoming environment where every person feels safe.

We know that collectively our actions today and in the future matter. Let’s do our best to come together, work together and be an example of unity.


Faye Stewart, Chair, Lane County Board of Commissioners

Kitty Piercy, Mayor, City of Eugene

Christine Lundberg, Mayor, City of Springfield

Joe Henry, Mayor, City of Florence

Dave Stram, Mayor, City of Creswell

Jim Coey, Mayor, City of Oakridge

Thomas Munroe, Mayor, City of Cottage Grove

Sandra Larson, Mayor, City of Veneta

Ray Smith, Mayor, City of Coburg

Matt Meske, Mayor, City of Westfir

Michael Schill, President and Professor of Law, University of Oregon

Mary Spilde, President, Lane Community College

Dr. Sue Rieke-Smith, Superintendent, Springfield Public Schools

Eric Richardson, President, Eugene-Springfield National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

Juan Carlos Valle, Vice President, League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC)

Michael Carrigan, Program Director, Community Alliance of Lane County

Michael Eyster, Chair, Springfield Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors

Vonnie Mikkelson, President, Springfield Chamber of Commerce

Facebook Twitter Email