- Fire and Emergency Medical Services
- Fire Marshal's Office
Fire Marshal's Office
Technical staff within the Fire Marshal’s Office includes Life Safety Inspectors, Deputy Fire Marshal 1, Deputy Fire Marshal 2, Assistant Fire Marshal and Fire Marshal.
The Fire Marshal’s Office is a shared service of the cities of Eugene and Springfield and is responsible for fire code enforcement, fire investigation, juvenile fire setter intervention, plan review, and public education. The technological advances in today’s fire prevention strategies utilize expertise in architecture, engineering and other related fields. Individuals with a background in these areas are encouraged to explore opportunities in the field of fire prevention. Feel free to contact the Fire Marshal’s office for more information.
One year of accredited coursework towards a Fire Science degree equivalent to 45 credit hours or equivalent experience.
An Associate's Degree in Fire Prevention or Fire Science is preferred.
One year of relevant experience in code enforcement, public education, fire investigations, and/or plan review; OR 2 years of career fire suppression experience which includes experience in these areas and certification as a FF1 or greater through DPSST or NFPA or equivalent.
Required Certifications / Licenses:
ICC Fire Inspector 1 (within 1 year of hire)
ICC Fire Inspector 2 (within 1 year of hire)
Oregon Inspector Certification – OIC (within 1 year of hire)
Oregon DPSST – Hazmat Awareness and Operations (within 1 year of hire)
Oregon DPSST – Fire Inspector (within 1 year of hire)
Oregon DPSST – Fire Investigator (within 1 year of hire)
Oregon State Fire Marshal Competency Recognition: Specialist 1 level (within 1 year of hire)
National Incident Management System Courses 100, 200, and 700 (within 1 year of hire)
Oregon Driver's License
Valid Oregon driver’s license, or ability to obtain by date of hire; must pass driving records check and, if hired, maintain a driving record that meets the City’s standard. Oregon law requires that an out-of-state license holder must obtain a valid Oregon license (with appropriate endorsements) within 30 days of becoming domiciled in the state (ORS 803.355).
Working at Eugene Springfield Fire
For information about employee benefits, click the following links:
Many of the positions in the Fire Marshal's Office are union represented. For the current collective bargaining agreement, click here.