Fire Watch Information
"Fire Watch" is a temporary measure intended to ensure continuous and systematic surveillance of a building or portion thereof by one or more qualified individuals for the purposes of identifying and controlling fire hazards, detecting early signs of unwanted fire, raising an alarm of fire, and notifying the fire department.
Dedicated person or personnel: At least one dedicated person is required to conduct patrols. Additional personnel shall be added as necessary to meet the interval requirements of Section Oregon Fire Code Appendices T103.3. All personnel shall meet the following criteria and be:
- At least 18 years of age.
- Competent to identify fire hazards.
- Capable of effectively communicating the need for a fire department response.
- Physically capable to perform patrols and self-preservation.
- Familiar with the structure and the emergency plan for the structure.
- Knowledgeable in the location and use of portable fire extinguishers.
Patrol interval: The structure or portions thereof shall be checked for fire hazards every 15 minutes or as required by the fire code official.
Notification: At least one method of communication to initiate a fire department response is required. Fire watch personnel shall have a cellular phone or other means of communication acceptable to the fire code official. In the event of a fire, fire watch personnel shall alert occupants and take appropriate action, including calling 911.
Activity log sheet: An activity log sheet is required to document the activities of the fire watch. The log shall list the name of the person who conducted the fire watch, time of each activity and description of activity performed. Activity log sheets shall be submitted to the Fire Marshal’s Office via email each day for the preceding 24-hour period.
Termination: A fire watch shall continue until the initiating circumstances identified in the notice of violations have been abated and the fire code official has been notified and has approved its termination.
Email: ESFFMOFireWatch@ci.eugene.or.us to submit activity log sheets, impairment plans, or request a reinspection.
ESF Fire Watch activity log sheets can be found here.
Failure to follow these fire watch directives may make you subject to prosecution. If a fire or injury results from a failure to comply with this directive, you may be liable for damages to persons or property under ORS 479.190. Failure to repair a building may result in closure of the building in accordance with ORS 479.170. In addition, see violations and abatement of unsafe buildings in Oregon Fire Code Sections 112, 114 and 901.7.