- Public Works
- Transportation Planning
- Safety & Laws
- Every Corner is a Crosswalk
Every Corner is a Crosswalk
Oregon law requires people driving cars or riding bikes to stop for people in all crosswalks, whether they are marked or unmarked. See Oregon Revised Statutes ORS 801.220, ORS 811.005-811.065.
Understanding and following crosswalk laws can save a life. Failing to obey the law can lead to a lifetime of regret. Oregon’s crosswalk laws are written to provide a buffer of safety for people walking on the roadway.
What constitutes a crosswalk?
Every public intersection is a crosswalk whether or not there is a signal, stop sign or painted lines. You may find crosswalks that have painted stripes, are accompanied by stop signs or traffic signals, or that are unmarked. Additionally, there are mid-block crossings in some locations marked by painted white lines. If you are unsure what constitutes a crosswalk when driving, it’s best to stop to avoid conflict. See ORS 801.220 for details.
What are the laws and my responsibilities?
Both people walking and people driving are expected to be courteous and are required to follow all state and local laws. See ORS 801.220, ORS chapter 811, ORS 814.010, ORS 814.020, and ORS 814.040 for details.
- If you are walking or biking, you have the right of way in any crosswalk if you give sufficient time for drivers to stop. If you are at a signaled crosswalk, the walk sign must be displayed. Do not start crossing at a signaled crosswalk if the do-not-walk sign is flashing or displayed. Bicyclists on sidewalks must operate their bikes at a speed no greater than an ordinary walk when approaching or entering a crosswalk (ORS 814.410 (1)(d).
- If you are driving or riding a bicycle in a travel lane (i.e., not in a crosswalk), you are required to stop for any foot, wheel, crutch, stroller, or any other extension of a person who is in the crosswalk. If a person is attempting to cross, you should stop. If you are turning at a signal, you must give a buffer of the lane you are turning into, plus six feet of the next lane. If you are turning at any other intersection, you must give a buffer of the lane you are turning into plus the entire next lane. If the roadway is separated or there is a safety island, you do not have to stop if the person is on the other side of the roadway.
- In school crossings, remain stopped until the entire crosswalk is clear.
Why is this important?
The majority of crashes involving people walking are a result of the failure of drivers to yield to the person in a crosswalk. Studies show that a person hit by a vehicle at 40 mph has an 85% chance of dying. In contrast, a person hit by a vehicle at 20 mph has a 95% chance of living. We need to look out for each other and take the time to ensure each other’s safety, whether we walk, bike or drive.
What special traffic safety devices should I be aware of?
In addition to regular signals found at signal-controlled intersections, there are two crosswalk devices increasing in popularity in Eugene. It is important to know how to use these and other traffic safety devices for our own safety and to be a good example to others.
Pedestrian-activated red light (see video below) and yellow "stutter flash" crosswalks (see video below) aim to increase visibility and decrease conflict in order to provide a safe trip by foot or bike for people of all ages and abilities.
Shane Rhodes (he/him)Transportation Options ManagerPhone: 541-556-3553