Local Gas Tax

Eugene’s Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax

Gas Pump

As one element of a comprehensive solution to adequately fund local street preservation needs, the City of Eugene in August 2003 implemented a local motor vehicle fuel tax that currently is 5 cents per gallon.

The revenues from the local gas tax are dedicated to the reconstruction, repair, maintenance, operation and preservation of city-owned roads and streets. The gas tax ordinance stipulates that no revenue shall be used for capacity-enhancing street improvements.

By policy, the revenues raised from the local fuel tax have been limited to capital preservation projects and have not been used for street operations such as patching potholes, striping the streets, or keeping streetlights lit.

According to information from the Oregon Department of Transporatation Fuels Tax Group and the League of Oregon Cities, Eugene is one of 22 local jurisdictions in Oregon that currently collect local fuel taxes in addition to the 30 cent-per-gallon state fuel tax and the 18.4 cent-per-gallon federal fuel tax. According the other jurisdictions in Oregon that collect local fuel taxes are:

  • Astoria
  • Canby
  • Coburg
  • Coquille
  • Cottage Grove
  • Dundee
  • Hood River
  • Milwaukie
  • Newport
  • Oakridge
  • Sandy
  • Springfield
  • Stansfield
  • The Dalles
  • Tigard
  • Tillamook
  • Veneta
  • Warrenton
  • Woodburn
  • Multnomah County
  • Washington County

Documents & Resources

Gas Tax Documents

Request for refund certificate under Eugene Code 3.483(2)

  • Download and use this form as a letter template