Chamber of Commerce
Lane Community College
University of Oregon
Travel Lane County
Electric Vehicle Parking
THINGS TO DO
Art in Public Places
Events - Eugene A Go-Go
Eugene / Springfield Museums
Hult Center for the Performing Arts
Parks and Open Space
Summer In the City Events
Court Fines Payments
Parking Ticket Payments
Meet the Judges
Preparing for Court
Special Needs Accommodations
What Is a Court?
1102 Lincoln St.
Eugene, OR 97401
Monday - Friday
Office: 7:45 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Phone: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Our phones are not answered Monday - Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
You are here:
Court Fines Payments
Court Fines Payments
Eugene Municipal Court accepts cash, checks, VISA, and MasterCard for payment of court fines and fees.
Online Payment Disclaimer
Before paying your fine online, please note that it will take one business day to process your payment.
If you have any questions about your case or this online payment process, please call 541-682-5400.
How to Pay Court Fines and Fees
You can pay court fines and fees using one of the following options:
Online Payment Site
To make a payment on the website you will be asked to provide the information shown on the
.Please note that not all payment information can be accessed using a driver's license number.
At the Municipal Court
Payments During Regular Business Hours
1102 Lincoln St.
Eugene, OR 97401
Monday through Friday
7:45 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
(excluding holidays and designated court closure dates).
The Eugene Police Department only accepts payments to release a person from custody in Lane County Adult Corrections. Personal checks will not be accepted to release a person from custody. This service is available only during Police Records Section open hours and when the court is closed. Eugene Police Records is located at:
300 Country Club Road
Eugene, OR 97401
Police Records is closed from 1 a.m. to 7 a.m.
Municipal Court has an internal and external collection process for collecting outstanding fines and fees owed to the court. One full time employee manages all internal collection processes. The court contracts with an external collection agency for assignment of accounts deemed uncollectible in-house.
When a fine is imposed, all defendants are obligated to pay the full amount of the fine and fees. The court does permit payment arrangements for those defendants who are unable to pay the balance owing. Payment plans are authorized based upon review of financial circumstances and payment history. The minimum payment amount is $35 per month and this may be increased if the defendant receives subsequent convictions.
Upon entering into a payment plan with the court, defendants will receive and sign a payment agreement. Payment agreements are generally 30 days or as arranged by the collection clerk. Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of this agreement will result in further action by the court. Further action may include: contempt complaints, show cause hearings, drivers license suspensions and/or turnover to the external collection agency.
The court has established specific criteria and timelines for submittal of accounts to the external collection agency. Defendants with accounts assigned to the external collection agency must contact and work directly with the collection agency to make payment arrangements. The court will receive notification of account payments from the collection agency each time a payment is received. When the account is paid in full the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles will be notified for suspension clearances. When the court receives the final payment from the external collection agency the case will be closed.
Where Does My Money Go?
Eugene Municipal Court collects fines and fees from citizens who have received parking, traffic or ordinance violations cited into Eugene Municipal Court. Payments received for fines or fees from traffic or ordinance violations are posted to the City’s general fund and the funds are used for City-wide programs and projects. The funds collected for parking related citations are turned over to the parking enterprise fund managed by the Planning and Development Department.
The budget funds used for Municipal Court operational expenses are set forth through the City’s budget process. The budget expenses include administrative costs for processing cases as well as contractual service costs. The budget for Municipal Court includes funds for management of two intergovernmental agreements with the Lane County Adult Corrections Department for jail bed space and access to alternative jail programs.
A Neutral Forum
The City of Eugene’s policy is for the court to provide a neutral forum for adjudication of cases and enforcement of sanctions with the goal of providing a safe community. This philosophy allows the judges and court the discretion to set fair and appropriate fine schedules as the court is not dependent upon collection of fine and fee revenue to offset the operational and contractual expenses.
Distribution of Monies Paid to the Court
In some cases, the court imposes and collects restitution for victims. Restitution to the victim may be imposed for property or personal damages. When payment plans are created, cases with victim restitution imposed are paid directly to the victim. Once the restitution is satisfied, the payments will be credited to assessments, fines or fees.
State and County Assessments
The court also collects state and county assessments. These assessments are set by the State Legislature and the Eugene Municipal Court is required to collect these fees on behalf of the state and county. The state assessment must be paid from the money received by the court before the fine amount is collected. The court submits a check to the state and county at the end of each month for the full amount of assessments collected for each agency.
Other Fees Collected
The court also collects fees for deferred prosecution programs, reopening of cases, processing of expungement requests, and copies of court records. These fees are in place to offset the administrative cost for processing the request. At the end of each month all fees collected are turned over to the City’s general fund.
Reduced budget funding has provided the local justice community with the opportunity to join together to seek new and creative ways to continue providing high quality service. Over the past few years the court has taken a proactive role in developing partnerships with community service providers, Quality Research Associates, Lane County Adult Corrections and the Eugene Fire Department to provide fair, education-based programs to improve the defendants’ ability for successful behavior change.
Deferred Prosecution Programs and Rehabilitation
The Eugene Municipal Court has worked together with these service providers to develop deferred prosecution programs for shoplifting, theft, some alcohol related offenses, and possession of less than an ounce of marijuana, as well as having a program for DUII diversion. Offenders who have more than one alcohol related offense may be referred to an education program specifically targeting this high risk group. This program is not a diversion program and is not optional if imposed by the judge. In addition to the above mentioned programs, the court also offers two traffic related programs. One is for teen drivers and the other is specific to high risk drivers.
Deferred Prosecution Programs
Shoplift/Theft Deferred Prosecution
The shoplift/theft deferred prosecution program, for first time offenders, requires an upfront guilty plea, agreement to pay court costs and restitution (if imposed), no new theft related offenses during the deferred prosecution program period, and attendance at a Circuit Court in-custody arraignment session. Successful completion of all the terms and conditions of the six month deferred prosecution program will result in the charge being dismissed. Failure to complete the terms and conditions of the deferred prosecution program will result in acceptance of the upfront guilty plea and move to sentencing.
Alcohol/Marijuana Deferred Prosecution
To participate in the deferred prosecution program for a first-time alcohol offense or possession of less than an ounce of marijuana, the defendant will pay a court cost, attend an educational program, and pay a non-refundable fee to the program provider. If the defendant successfully completes all these requirements and commits no new similar offenses during the four month deferred prosecution program the charge will be dismissed.
Failure to comply with all terms of the deferred prosecution agreement requires an appearance on the disposition date set by the court. If you fail to appear on this date, the court will impose a fine and the full State and County assessments. You will need to contact the court to make arrangements to pay the additional monies. Failure to pay or make payment arrangements may result in your account being turned over to a collection agency and additional fees imposed.
The offense of DUII is a Class A misdemeanor under Oregon law. Due to the seriousness of this offense and strict diversion requirements, Eugene Municipal Court strongly recommends consulting with an attorney before deciding how to proceed.
Non-Diversion Education Programs
The court has two programs specific to traffic related offenses. The first is the Teen Driver program. The court also has a program for repeat offenders of alcohol related offenses. This program is generally imposed by the judge at sentencing. None of these programs result in dismissal of a charge. They are strictly focused on education:
Teen Driver Improvement Program
This program is offered to young drivers between the ages of 15 – 17 years of age who have received their first moving violation. They are given the option to attend a 3-hour class provided by the Eugene Fire Department. The fine will be waived upon attending the class and paying the course fee; however, the charge will not be removed from the driving record. This is an interactive course in which the teens are encouraged to attend with a parent or adult guardian.
High Risk Driver Program
The High Risk Driver program is a sentencing alternative for drivers who engage in driving activity such as careless or reckless driving, driving at excessive speeds, violations involving accidents, or a driving behavior that places lives in danger. The course is coordinated and based at Legacy Emanuel Hospital, a regional trauma center in Portland, Oregon. The target audience is 18 to 26 year old drivers, as this is the highest risk group for fatal crashes. Defendants referred to this program will pay a course fee to Legacy Emanuel Hospital. Failure to attend the course after receiving a referral from the court will result in a license suspension or a contempt of court charge being filed.
Alcohol Education for Repeat Offenders
Offenders who have more than one alcohol related offense may be required, by the judge, to attend alcohol related education sessions. The offender will pay a non-refundable class fee and must successfully attend and complete all sessions required.
Failure to complete this program will result in imposition of fine and assessments previously suspended. The offender must contact the court to make payment arrangements. Failure to pay or make payment arrangements may result in turnover of the account to an external collection agency and imposition of additional fees.
If you have received a citation for one of the above mentioned charges, please feel free to contact the court at 541-682-5400 for additional information.
Helpful Court Links
Eugene City Code
Mobile Parking Ticket Payment App
Lane County Circuit Court
Lane County Sheriff's Office
Lane Transit District
Municipal Court Documents
Municipal Court Juror Affidavit
Oregon Administrative Rules
Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS)
Oregon State Bar
Pay My Court Fines and Fees
Pay My Parking Ticket
Pay My Parking Ticket Via Mobile Device
CITY OF EUGENE OREGON
125 East 8th Avenue, 2nd Floor, Eugene, Oregon 97401
Ph: 541-682-5010 Fx: 541-682-5414
Powered by CivicPlus