Kitty Piercy

Mayor of Eugene
Term: January 2013 - January 2017

Mayor Kitty Piercy125 East 8th Avenue, 2nd floor, Eugene, Oregon 97401
Eugene, OR 97401
Phone: 541-682-5010
FAX: 541-682-5414

Email Mayor Piercy:
E-mail sent to an elected official becomes a public record that may be subject to inspection and copying by the public. For further information please refer to the web site privacy policy.

Current Committee Assignments and Community Involvement
  • Metropolitan Policy Committee
  • Poverty and Homelessness Board
  • Co-chair, Leadership Council for Governor's Passenger Rail Committee
  • Regional Solutions Advisory Committee
  • South Willamette Economic Development Corporation Board
  • Wayne Morse Family Farm Board of Directors
  • Co-concord for Regional Accelerator and Innovation Network (RAIN)
Professional Background
  • Public Affairs Director, Planned Parenthood Health Services of Southwestern Oregon, 2000-2004
  • Oregon State Representative, 1995-2000
    • Assistant Minority Leader, 1997-1999
    • Minority Leader, 1999-2000
  • Early Childhood Educator, 1977-1996
  • Elementary School Teacher, 1966-1969
  • United States Peace Corps, Asmara, Ethiopia, 1964-1966

Educational Background
  • Western Michigan University, B.S., Elementary and Special Education, 1964
  • California State University, Hayward, Graduate Studies in Political Science, 1969-71

Past Community Service
  • Eugene Chamber of Commerce Board
  • Co-chair, Governor's Rail Alignment Committee
  • Lane Area Committee on Transportation
  • Wayne Morse Center at University of Oregon Advisory Board
  • Advisory Board for the Center for Women Policy Studies, Washington, DC
  • Oregon Coalition for Homeless and Runaway Youth
  • Laurel Hill Center Board of Directors, 1996-2004 (Chair, 2002-2003)
  • Wayne Morse Historical Park Corporation Board of Directors
  • Governor's Early Childhood Planning Group
  • Legislative Interim Workgroup on Homeless and Runaway Youth
  • Oregon Commission on Children and Families
  • Lane County Measure 28 Co-Chair
  • Governor's Task Force on Juvenile Crime and Prevention
  • Committee on Growth Management and Revenue
  • Task Force on Light Rail
  • National Conference of State Legislators
  • Centro Latino Americano Board of Directors
  • Neighborhood Advisory Board for Whiteaker Public Safety Station (Chair, 1993)
  • Planned Parenthood Health Services of Southwestern Oregon Board of Directors
  • Oregon NARAL Board of Directors (President, 1990-1993)
  • Community School Coordinating Committee, District 4j
  • Center for Women Policy Studies

Awards and Recognition
  • 2015 Oregon Transit Association's Local Distinguished Service Award
  • 2010 Most Valuable Local Official by The Nation magazine 
  • 1998 International Women's Day Human Rights Recognition Award
  • 1990 Award for Dedication and Service for Work with Women's Issues

Special Interests and Concerns
  • Sustainable economic development
  • Neighborhoods and community
  • Social service infrastructure
  • Education
  • Public Safety
  • Children and families
  • Social equity
  • Downtown development
  • Arts and culture